Laurel Swinden

DMA in Flute Performance as a
Fellowship recipient at the University of Toronto

A passionate and dedicated teacher, Dr. Swinden teaches Flute at Wilfrid Laurier University, the University of Waterloo, University of Guelph and the Laurier Conservatory of Music. Laurel was Visiting Assistant Professor of Flute at the University of Nebraska Omaha in 2017 and has taught at the University of Windsor, Western University and the University of Mississippi. Her recordings of flute music by women composers have been hailed as “”bringing together artistry and artistic leadership” (Whole Note) and have widespread streaming on several major platforms. 

In demand as a clinician, teacher, adjudicator, coach and examiner, Dr. Swinden adjudicates at festivals across Canada, the United States and Peru. She has served as a juror for the Ontario Arts Council and the National Flute Association’s Myrna Brown International Scholarship competition. Dr. Swinden has given masterclasses in China, Peru, Argentina, the United States and across Canada. Recently Laurel adjudicated the Emerging Artist Woodwinds for the Federation of National Music Festivals, Canada. 

Dr. Swinden earned a DMA in Flute Performance as a Fellowship recipient at the University of Toronto, where she studied with Toronto Symphony Principal Flute emeritus Nora Schulman and traverso with Alison Melville. Her training includes residencies at the Banff Centre and the Harid Conservatory (now Lynn University.) Laurel sought additional training in masterclasses and lessons with Jim Walker, Jeffrey Zook, Jan Gippo, Leone Buyse, Kathleen Rudolph, Bernard Goldberg, Keith Underwood, Philippe-Alain Dupré, Lisa Besnoziuk and Carol Wincenc. She performs as the Principal flute of the Stratford Symphony Orchestra, Associate Principal/Piccolo of the Scarborough Philharmonic Orchesrtra, and as an extra with orchestras across Ontario. 

Dr. Swinden gratefully acknowledges support from the Canada Council, Ontario Arts Council, Canadian Federation of University Women, Waterloo Region Arts Council, Tafelmusik, David and Marcia Beach Scholarship fund, and the London Music Scholarship Foundation.

Scroll to Top